Select region: 

As of June 2017 all Government News has been added to the Government News Archive. We look forward to providing you with more services through our Government Publications. Stay tuned for more insights on our new website releasing soon.

Statia swears in new government


~ Governor Berkel wants to accelerate the ‘people’s work’ ~

ST EUSTATIUS–Statia Governor Gerald Berkel sworn in the island’s newest commissioner and councilman Friday. The ceremony came a day after the Island Council booted former Commissioner Nicolaas “Koos” Sneek with a three-to-one vote of no confidence.

Reginald Zaandam replaces Sneek in Statia’s Executive Council, and Elvin Henriques takes Zaandam’s seat in the Island Council.


The procedures went very smoothly without any hiccups. This formation of a new government was one of many historical events, which is cherished on St. Eustatius.

On Tuesday evening, Councilman Rueben Merkman was kicked out of the Democratic Party of St. Eustatius. The next day, a new government was formed and Thursday, council members picked Sneek’s replacement.

Explaining the speed with which the commissioner was ousted and a new one was appointed, the governor said he hoped to “move on with the business of the people” quickly.

All members of the Executive and Island Councils pledged their support to each other. Many friends and family and supporters were present to witness the official swearing in of the new commissioner and island councilman.

Berkel congratulated the newly sworn in members and the new members of government as they work together for Statia.

Source: The Daily Herald, St. Maarten


Commissioners divide portfolio’s


ST. EUSTATIUS – Commissioner Carlyle Tearr of  new party Statia Liberal  Action Movement (SLAM)  and his colleague Reginald Zaandam of United  People’s Coalition (UPC),  who were both sworn in as  members of the new Island  Government on Friday,  have divided their portfolios.

A press release issued  Tuesday, stated that Commissioner Tearr will be the  commissioner responsible  for tourism; public works,  spatial planning, traffic and communication; public housing, waste management, environment and  nature management; agriculture, animal husbandry  and fisheries; social affairs,  culture and sports; women,  gender and youth affairs;  economic affairs; harbour and piloting; general affair, Planning Bureau, and  research and planning; government buildings; building  and housing control, and  registry of public properties.

Commissioner Zaandam  will be managing the portfolios of education; labour  and senior citizen care;  energy and water distribution; constitutional affairs;  airport; legal affairs; monument care; public health;  personnel affairs; finance  and island taxes and information and automation.

Source: The Daily Herald, St. Maarten

Share this page:
« Back
Back to Top